Swamp

The swamp queen © Samantha Groenestyn

‘I’m made of bones of the branches, the boughs and the brow-beating light
While my feet are the trunks and my head is the canopy high
And my fingers extend to the leaves and the eaves, and the bright
Brightest shine
It’s my shine.’
(The Queen, The Hazards of Love – by the Decemberists)

I’ve been admiring the work of Carson Ellis, and this little sketch is a study of her method of working, applied to my own imagining of the Queen. (Illustration Friday.)

Medium: Pencil
Listening to: The Decemberists

Standard

4 thoughts on “Swamp

    • Haha. She is amazing, right? She is actually married to the singer from the Decemberists, I don’t know if that’s cheating. They recently put out a ‘children’s book’ (it is quite the tome) called Wildwood, and her illustrations are adorable. My favourites are the silhouettes. How does anyone keep their palette so tastefully muted? x

      • Cheating? Nah. If anything, the Decemberists got free album art. I searched for the book – it looks beautiful! But holy crap! –its a 560 page book, aimed at kids ages 9 onward! A definite Tome. Well, I am rather curious about it (writing too)…may have to dish money out for that one. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

